Wisconsin Renewable Energy Scholarship

In early 2009, Rick Terrien, Executive Director of the Iowa County Area Economic Development Corporation proposed creating a scholarship program, targeted at an Iowa County Area student attending UW-Platteville, who selected a minor or major in Renewable Energy. Rick shared that at this time, UW-Platteville is the only UW-System campuses that has a degree (major or minor) in Renewable Energy. A small group of individuals interested in renewable energy and sustainability took on the task of creating the scholarship fund.

The following criteria shall be used in the annual selection of the recipient(s):
1. Applicants must be majoring or minoring in Sustainability and Renewable Energy
2. Applicants must be of sophomore, junior or senior standing
3. Preference will be given to students from Iowa county
4. If none from Iowa County, then from Grant, Lafayette, Sauk, or Richland